[Brief] Floridians choose primary nominations for their party


Tribune News Service

Charlie Crist addresses supporters after he is announced the winner of the democratic primary for the Florida Governor’s race Tuesday in St. Petersburg. Courtesy of Dirk Shadd/TNS.

Brynn Schwartz, Associate Editor-in-Chief

In primary election races for U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, Broward County Public Schools School Board, Florida Governor, Florida Attorney General, Florida Agricultural Commissioner, Floridians chose their party’s nominee for the midterm elections on Tuesday, Aug. 23. 

Broward County Commissioner for District 8 Jared Moskowitz earned the Democratic nomination for Florida Congressional District 23 for U.S. House.

Democratic Rep. Val Demings, as largely expected, beat out former U.S. House candidate Ricardo de la Fuente, former state Rep. Brian Rush, former Special Counsel for the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Special Counsel and Unfair Employment Practices William Sanchez with 84.3% of the vote will race against incumbent Sen. Marco Rubio, whose primary was canceled.

Former Republican Gov. Charlie Crist, who currently is a member of the Democratic party, beat Democratic Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried by 368,746 votes. Crist won in Broward by 63.4%.

For the Democratic nomination for Florida Attorney General, Aramis Ayala won and will face off against incumbent Republican Ashley Moody.

“I know what it takes to bring about the systemic change this moment requires, and together, we will defeat Ashley Moody and overcome the backward progress and divisive, hateful rhetoric that has come to define her tenure as Attorney General,” Ayala said in a statement following the results.

Florida Agricultural Commissioner had both a Republican and Democratic primary一Senate President Wilton Simpson won the Republican nomination, while committeewoman for the Miami Dade Democratic Executive Committee in District 15 Naomi Blemur won the Democratic nomination. 

Several BCPS School Board positions were up in 2022, including District Four, which includes MSD. Lori Alhadeff has held the position since 2018 and was re-elected on Tuesday, Aug. 23.

District Eight At-Large seat, held by Donna Korn, was on the ballot as well. Korn will head to a runoff with Center for Human Capital Innovation CEO Allen Zeman. Korn is at-risk of suspension by Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis, for failing to hold former BCPS Superintendent Ronald Runcie accountable

BCPS’ referendum, pushed by both BCPS and Broward’s Teachers Union, passed. The funding will be used to increase teacher’s salaries and improve school safety.

People who wish to vote in the midterm election can register to vote by Tuesday, Oct. 11, and find their voting precinct on Vote.org.